The Gordon Wood Award

The Gordon Wood Award is presented to an especially noteworthy high school football team that displayed good sportsmanship, the ability to overcome challenges, had the support of the community and achieved success on the field. The Gordon Wood Award is named for legendary Texas high school football coach Gordon Wood who won nine state championships.


1991 Killeen HS
Follow the link below to read - 1991: The year Killeen needed football
By Angel Verdejo Jr., Houston Chronicle
1992 Riesel HS
1993 Southlake Carroll HS
1994 Goldthwaite HS
1995 SA Roosevelt HS
1996 Sealy HS
1997 Jarrell HS
1998 Cuero HS
1999 Belton HS
Show More
1994 Goldthwaite HS